Being “Different”

I have recently been doing some research on a few new audio based upgrades, and I have found that I put value on having something “different” more than I would have thought. Specifically, I have been looking at my options when it comes to active noise cancelling headphones. Most people have said that Bose is the way to go, and I know that they do make good stuff, but between the price and the fact that that is what everyone uses I find myself increasingly drawn away from them as an option.

I think part of it is that I always like to route to the underdog and support people who are trying to improve a technology when they aren’t already the go to for that tech. Another example of this is my cell phone choices. I have carried windows phone for the past 4 years. It has meant that there have been some things I have not been able to do, like play Pokemon go, since there a quite a few things not developed for windows phones. However, I really think that they had a good interface and OS, and I was happy to support them by buying their phones. Unfortunately it seems that Microsoft has decided to stop producing phone to focus on tablets and the surface line, so I guess my next phone will have to be something different.

It seems silly, but I actually get some enjoyment out of answering the questions about phone apps and such by saying “because I have a windows phone.” I don’t know if it is just because of the surprise factor, or being able to feel like I made a decision of what I wanted rather than what everyone else has.

I know that some of it also probably comes from being a twin. That has meant I have spent my whole life being considered “the same” as someone else, even though my twin and I couldn’t be more opposite in a lot of ways. Either way, I definitely put some weight on having a different tech toy than those around me.

The benefit to always looking at the underdog brands is that sometimes I find really cool features or products that are overlooked by the major manufacturers. Here’s hoping that is the case with the next set of upgrades…I’ll just have to wait and see

Leave a Reply

