Backlogs

I have had a long history of having a backlog of games. My steam library currently has over 175 games in it, and I have multiple games on PS4, Wii U, 3DS and PS Vita that I haven’t even started yet. Plus I got a retro pi for Christmas, which has hundreds of classic games on it too. For awhile I had a grand idea that I would stop buying games until I can get through some new ones, but I get way to excited for launches and end up buying them anyway.

Since PAX South I have been trying to come up with a way to make time to at least start more of the games that I have. I don’t expect that I will ever finish all of the games I own at this point, but it would be nice to have at least given some time to more of my games.

I have started to do better about starting handheld games, since I can do that even if I am not at home. My biggest problem is feeling like I have to perfect the experience. I am not good about just using the smaller chunks of free time I have to just play for 30-60 min. I always want to be able to sit down and dedicate a big chunk of time to a gaming session, and that is just not as practical with the way my life is anymore. Maybe I can bring myself to do something similar to the Penny Arcade idea of a “first 15” to at least get a taste of more games.

Leave a Reply

