Desktop Rig

So I have had my desktop PC for about five and a half years now. I was actually lucky enough to win the system from a Digital Storm giveaway at PAX East 2012, playing rock paper scissors of all things. At the time I was working at a non-profit, making enough money to get by but certainly not enough to splurge on a nice gaming rig. It was a high end system at the time, since it was running the one of the brand new (at the time) NVIDIA cards and had lots of bells and whistles I definitely could not have afforded on my own.

The spec list:

Chassis Model: Corsair Special Edition White Graphite Series 600T
Processor: Intel Core i7 3930K 3.2GHz (Unlocked CPU for Extreme Overclocking) (Six-Core)
Motherboard: EVGA X79 FTW (Intel X79 Chipset) (Features USB 3.0 and SATA 6Gb/s)
System Memory: Corsair Vengeance 16GB Quad Channel DDR3 Memory Kit
Power Supply: Corsair 1050W Pro Silver 1050HX Hard Drive Set 1: 1x (500GB (7200 RPM) (16MB Cache)
Video Card: EVGA NVIDIA GeForce GTX 580 1.5GB
Extreme Cooling: Corsair H100 Liquid CPU Cooler (240mm Radiator)

Five and a half years later the system is still running like a champ. No it can’t handle some of the newer games on high, mainly because the 580 just can’t handle textures like the modern cards, but overall it still runs 90% of what I want to play on high settings and smoothly.

While I am starting to debate an upgrade I now am finding a new dilemma; there is a part of me that doesn’t want to toy with the build that I won. Some upgrades, like adding an SSD boot drive, I think would be ok. However some of the more drastic changes (i.e. a new video card, processor and/or motherboard) I don’t know that I would want to do.

It would almost certainly be more cost effective to upgrade pieces of this system and not start from scratch, especially since the system does have a 1050W power supply it could certainly power one of the newer gen cards, but I just don’t know if I can bring myself to tear this one down. Maybe I am just too sentimental…

Leave a Reply

