Trick or Treat

haunteddoor

With it being Halloween pretty much every game I am playing on a regular basis, and some I am not, has had some type of holiday release content. Guild Wars 2 had its yearly visit from Mad King Thorn and his minions. Overwatch introduced the brawl for Dr. Junkenstien, as well as seasonal loot boxes full of interesting holiday skins. Plus there have been major Halloween releases in games like Destiny, Elder Scrolls Online, and World of Warcraft. So many games have Halloween content that gamespot even compiled a list.

Halloween certainly isn’t the only holiday that games tend to celebrate, but it has definitely become one of the larger ones. Personally, I am torn about all these special limited time events. While I really enjoy having the new content to explore, I find that having so many games with limited time offerings all at once is a bit overwhelming. For example, since I have been playing so much Guild Wars 2 lately, that sort of took priority for the Halloween content. However, that means that I didn’t get much time in games like Overwatch, so I wont have a chance to get some of the really cool skins and items that they have been offering before the content rolls away.

I realized that this is obviously a first world problem. I am thankful to be in a place where I have so many games with content like this to choose from. I also realize that this is probably intentional on the part of the developers/publishers. With a market that is a saturated as the gaming market is, they are hoping that their limited time content will be more enticing to you then the next game, so that you will come back to their digital world for at least a while.

 

Leave a Reply

